Denmark photo gallery - pictures, facts and information on Denmark

Denmark Categories


Denmark’s official name is the Kingdom of Denmark (Kongeriget Danmark). It lies in the geographical region of Scandinavia, in the North Europe. The kingdom also includes the Faroe Islands and Greenland. The country borders Germany in the south and the Baltic and the North Sea. Sweden is to the northeast and Norway to the north of Denmark.

The first inhabitants of Denmark were Nomadic hunters. Danes came here from Sweden around 500 AD. In the late 9th century, Norwegian Viking warriors conquered the Jutland peninsula and Danish monarchy dates back to Viking Chief Hardegon's son, Gorm the Old. In the 14th century Queen Margrethe I succeeded in uniting Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, the Faroe Islands, Iceland, and Greenland under the Danish crown. Sweden and Finland left the union in 1520; Norway remained until 1814; Iceland, in a "personal union" under the king of Denmark after 1918, became independent in 1944. The Reformation was introduced in Denmark in 1536. Denmark's provinces in Sweden were lost in 1658, and Norway was transferred from the Danish to the Swedish crown in 1814 (abovementioned), following the defeat of Napoleon, with whom Denmark was allied. In 1849 Denmark became a constitutional monarchy. Denmark remained neutral during World War I. Despite its declaration of neutrality at the beginning of World War II, it was invaded by the Germans in 1940 and occupied until it was liberated by the Allied forces in May 1945.

Denmark’s borderline with Germany is just 68 km long, the rest 7,314 km is coastline. Since 2000 Denmark has been connected by the Øresund Bridge to southern Sweden. The country covers the area of 43.098 square kilometers. Besides peninsula of Jutland, Denmark is created by 443 named islands; 1,419 islands above 100 square metres in total. The biggest are Zealand, Funen, Vendsyssel-Thy, Lolland, Falster and Bornholm. 72 of them are inhabited. Many of the larger islands are connected by bridges. The country is flat with little elevation; average height above sea level is 31 metres. The climate is in the temperate zone, with cold winters and cool summers.

Denmark is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy system of government. The head of state is the Queen Margarethe II (since 14 January 1972). The government is a coalition of the Liberals and the Conservatives headed by Liberals. Denmark is divided into five regions and a total of 98 municipalities. Greenland and the Faroe Islands have autonomous status and are largely self-governing; each is represented by two seats in the parliament. The capital city is Copenhagen with more than million inhabitants. Other major cities are Århus, Odense and Aalborg.

The population of the country is approximately 5 and half million. The population density is 126.4 people per square kilometre. As in most countries, the population is not distributed evenly. Nearly 91% of the population is Danes, the rest are immigrants and their descendents, most of them from other Scandinavian countries or Europe. Nearly 81% of the population of Denmark is members of the Danish National Church, a Lutheran church that was made the official state religion by the Constitution of Denmark. People speak Danish language.

Denmark’s mixed economy features above average European living standards. The country has the most flexible labour market in Europe. It has the world’s lowest level of income inequality, and the world’s highest minimum wage. Denmark's national currency is the krone. Denmark is the member of several international organizations: UN, OECD, EU, NATO, Schengen, OSCE, IMF, WTO and others.

Danes drive of right. The international TLD is .dk and the calling code is 45.
Search site