Mexico photo gallery - pictures, facts and information on Mexico

Mexico Categories


Mexico on the Map

GPS N26.352498°,W103.974609°
Mexico is the state located in the south of North America. Its official name is United Mexican States (Estados Unidos Mexicanos). It borders United States of America in north and Guatemala and Belize in south. The capital city as well as the largest one is Mexico City. Spanish is spoken here, although it is not the official language at federal level. Mexico covers the area of 1,972,550 square kilometres (758,249 sq mi).

As far as the state system is concerned, Mexico is Federal Republic. President of Mexico is both head of state and head of government. Mexico is divided into 31 states (estados) and a federal district. Each state has its own constitution and its citizens elect a governor as well as representatives to their respective state congresses.

From the earliest history it is necessary to mention five major civilizations that lived on the area of present-day Mexico. They were The Olmec, Teotihuacan, the Toltec, the Mexica (Aztecs) and the Maya. Europeans first reached Mexico in the early 16th century and in 1519 the native civilizations of Mexico were invaded by Spanish troops led by the conquistadores, Hernán Cortés. The Spanish defeat of the Mexica in 1521 marked the beginning of the 300 year-long colonial period of Mexico. During this period Mexico was known as New Spain (Nueva España). It got back its independence on 16 September 1810. However it was officially recognized as an independent state just on 27 September 1821. After gaining its independence, Mexico lost half of its territory in Mexican-American war (1846 – 1848). At the beginning of the 20th century, the Mexican Revolution took place. It began with the popular rejection of dictator Porfirio Díaz Mori in 1910 and continued even after the promulgation of a new constitution in 1917. On January 1, 1994, Mexico became a full member of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), joining the United States of America and Canada in a large economic bloc.

The population of Mexico is 107,784,179 inhabitants, with the density 55 inhabitants per square kilometre. It is racially and ethnically diverse country. The three main ethnic groups are mestizos (mixed European and Amerindian), Amerindians, and Europeans. European Mexicans make up about 15% of the population, are mostly Spanish. There are also German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Irish, Polish, Russian, British, and Swedish immigrants. The remaining minority is comprised of Afro-Mexican, Middle Eastern, and East Asian people. There lives also a large Chinese community. Mexico is home for many other Latin American emigrants, including Argentines, Cubans, Brazilians, Chileans and other South and Central Americans.

Mexico boasts a wealth of regional cultures that is unique in America. Every region in the country has a distinct culture, languages, and arts that create a huge mosaic as a whole.

The currency is Peso (MXN), the internet domain is .mx and international phone code is +52.
Search site