Slovakia - Bratislava photo gallery, pictures, facts and information on Bratislava - 1/8

Bratislava - Pictures

Next pictures

All pictures in World > Slovakia > Bratislava
1 - 8 | 9 - 16 | 17 - 24 | 25 - 32 | 33 - 40 | 41 - 48 | 49 - 56 | 57 - 58


Bratislava on the Map

GPS N48.151428°,E17.144165°
Bratislava is the capital city of Slovakia. It is also the largest city of this state with the area of 367.5 square kilometres. It lies on both banks of the river Danube, close to Austrian and Hungarian bounders.

Bratislava was settled by Slavonic people in the 6th century, although the first written reference is from the year 907. It got the privileges of the city in 1291. The first university in Slovakia –Academia Istropolitana, was established here in 1465. In between 1526 and 1784 Bratislava was the capital city of the Ugrian Empire – the Ugrian kings were crowned here. As the capital of Slovakia it has been known since 1919, when also the name Bratislava was adopted. In the past multiple forms were common, the most influential ones were the German Pressburg and the Hungarian Pozsony.

There are around 450 000 inhabitants living in Bratislava. The density of population is 1220 inhabitants per square kilometre. More than 90% of them are Slovaks, the rest belong to national minorities such as Hungarians, Czechs, Moravians, Germans and others. The prevailing religion is Roman Catholicism.

To the most famous Bratislava’s landmarks belongs the Bratislava Castle, situated on plateau 82 metres above the Danube. It’s unusual mostly for its appearance – it looks like the rounded table. It was built in 10th century. There is one more castle connected to Bratislava, although situated on the outskirt, on the top of a high rock above the place where the Morava River flows into the Danube. Devin Castle, now in ruins, is considered to be the Gate to Bratislava.

To other Bratislava’s landmarks belong St. Martin’s Cathedral, Bratislava’s Town Hall, Franciscan Church, University of Comenius, University Library, Primate’s Palace, Slovak National Theatre, Michael’s Gate, UFO like restaurant above the Novy Most or Grassalkovich Palace. To newer landmarks belong the skyscraper-like building of Slovak National Bank and the Apollo Bridge.

Bratislava is divided into 5 districts – for the purpose of national administrative division. In another point of view, Bratislava is divided into 17 city parts, for example Dubravka, Raca, Ruzinov, Petrzalka, Stare mesto…

Bratislava is also the political, cultural and economic centre of Slovakia. It is the seat of the Slovak presidency, parliament and government as well as home to several universities, museums, theatres, galleries and other national economic, cultural and educational institutions. Most of Slovakia's large businesses and financial institutions have their headquarters in Bratislava. It hosts many festivals and trade shows and it is famous for its nightlife and leisure facilities.

Search site