Turkey photo gallery - pictures, facts and information on Turkey

Turkey Categories


Turkey on the Map

GPS N39.164141°,E34.848633°
Turkey (The Republic of Turkey) is the country located on two continents – Europe and Asia. Its culture is therefore the blend of Eastern and Western traditions and there are strong cultural and economic influences from all directions (European Union, Central Asia, Russia and Middle East). It is classified as a developed country.

Turkey borders eight countries: Bulgaria (northwest), Greece (west), Georgia (northeast), Armenia, Azerbaijan, Iran (east) and Iraq and Syria (southeast). There is the Mediterranean Sea to the south, the Black Sea to the north and Aegan Sea to the west. Between the Black Sea and the Aegean Sea there is the Sea of Marmara and two Turkish Straits (the Bosporus and the Dardanelles). The area of Turkey is 783,562 square kilometers what makes Turkey the 37th largest country in the world.

Turkey has a Mediterranean temperate climate, with hot, dry summers and mild, wet and cold winters. The interior of the country has a continental climate, because the mountains near the coast of
Mediterranean prevent the sea from influencing the land.

The capital city of Turkey is Ankara. However, it is not the biggest city. The biggest one is Istanbul. Turkey is divided into 81 provinces which are further divided into districts. Moreover, the provinces are organized into 7 regions (Marmara, Aegean, Black Sea, Central Anatolia, Eastern Anatolia, Southeastern Anatolia and the Mediterranean). They have geographical background. The official language is Turkish and Turkey is Parliamentary republic.

The population of Turkey is over 70.5 million. The general density is 93 inhabitants per square kilometer but it changes between 11 and 2,420 in the country's provinces. Over 70% lives in the cities. The majority of the Turkish population is of Turkish ethnicity. Other major ethnic groups include the Kurds, Circassians, Roma, Arabs and the three officially-recognized minorities of Greeks, Armenians and Jews. 99.8% of the Turkish population is Muslim

Most of the country lies on the Anatolian peninsula (also called Asia Minor), which is one of the oldest continually inhabited regions in the world due to its location at the intersection of Asia and Europe. The Ottoman Empire, one of the world’s most powerful political entities in the 16th and 17th centuries, was created in the area. Following the fall of the Ottoman Empire in the aftermath of World War I, Turkey started the War of Independence on 19 May, 1919. The parliament was formed on 23 April 1920 and the Republic was declared on 29 October 1923. The founder and the first president of the Turkey Republic became Mustafa Kemal Atatürk.

Turkey is a founding member of the OECD and the G20 industrial nations. It is one of the fastest growing economies in the world. The agricultural sector accounts for 11.9% of GDP, whereas industrial sector 23.7% and service sectors 64.5%. The tourism sector has experienced rapid growth in the last twenty years, and constitutes an important part of the economy. The currency is New Turkish Lira that replaced old Turkish Lira by dropping off six zeroes.

The international abbreviation for Turkey is TR, the internet domain is .tr and the international phone code is +90.
Search earthinpictures.com site